Welcome to the Real World!

After I graduated from college in June 2008, I was self-diagnosed with post magna cum laude chronic disillusionment. I was a 3.8 GPA student whose golden honors cords were cutting off blood flow to the brain and, therefore, making me blind to so called “reality.” This reality came to be known as The Real World, a grown up term for the following:

Working 8 to 5 in a job you hate, paying bills, getting married, then paying part of your spouse’s bills (in addition to your own bills), having children, then paying part of your bills, their bills, and your spouse’s bills all the while feeling miserable at your cubicle, but somewhat honored because you are fulfilling everyone else’s goal for your life: to be successful!

You may be a paper-pusher at the top marketing firm of your town, but at least you have an esteemed job title. Trust me, everyone LOVES to ask what you are doing after you graduate, and sometimes it just feels better to have an answer that makes you sound good.

Before I entered The Real World, I was within the top ranks of my class, grade point average speaking. When I was done with school, however, part of my identity was wiped away; there no longer was a numerical system by which to judge my achievements. But in my state of enchantment, I knew that out there, beyond the doors of classrooms, I had a grand purpose to fulfill. That’s what they promised me. I could change the world; I could make a difference; I could accomplish every goal I had imagined since the time I was young.

Only problem: when I was young, I wanted to be a Sea World whale trainer, and now my views on animal rights have changed. Additionally, our economy is, “plunging into a deep recession,” as my mom puts it. So, Sea World probably isn’t hiring anyway. Now what?

This blog will chronicle the often times silly and unimpressive non-achievements of my after-college life.

My mission: to prove that life in The Real World does not have to be miserable by helping you find your way through my failures.

It will include:

1. Chronicles about my Real World adventures.
2. How to manage Real World tasks such as building credit, negotiating car insurance, and saving money.
3. Ways to determine what you really want to be doing with your life rather than what you should be doing.
4. Advice about living and working abroad.
5. A feature about “What It’s Like” where I try out different jobs for a day and let you know, well, what they’re like (feel free to make suggestions on what jobs you would like to see me try out).

I may even try to make you laugh at my expense, which I hope doesn’t cost too much because I am still broke.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Welcome to the Real World!

  1. Erick

    Y tienes mucha razon en el blog , cosas asi deberian aprender en el college. Dimelo a mi que tuve que ver esa carita tuya cuando tu carro se malogro o tenias que cambiar el aceite.
    Suerte

Leave a comment